Tackling Gluten

 

Hello My Foodie Health Nuts!

So today I embarked on a journey that, for many people, is a lifelong path: going gluten-free. At first glance, this may not seem like a daunting task, however I was unaware of the multitude of gluten-based products I subconsciously consume on a daily basis. I went gluten-free using what I had at hand, rather than buying specialized gluten-free products, to illustrate substitutes that may be right in front of you.

Laid before you is the inside scoop of how I altered my diet for a day, saying no to the proteins in wheat, and yes to an alternative way.

Breakfast:

I thought I’d start the morning off on a high note with a warm bowl of cinnamon oatmeal…  I thought wrong.  See, although oats are considered a naturally gluten-free grain, they are grown, transported, and processed in a manner that is likely contaminated with wheat.

So, I moved on to my next thought: cereal.

But what cereal is gluten free? The first ingredient in most cereals involves wheat… and wheat leads to gluten.  However, I discovered a very popular brand of cereal is gluten-free: Cheerios! According to General Mill’s blog, Cheerios (Apple Cinnamon, Frosted, Original, Honey Nut, Multi Grain), are all made and processed using a mechanical sorting process that removes wheat and barley from the oats.

Gluten-free breakfest option! Go Cheerios! #cheerios #gluten-free #food4thought

A post shared by Food for Thought (@food4thought210) on

Lunch:

I thought I’d redeem myself with lunch, only to find myself in an even bigger hole than before. My typical lunch consists of a salad with marinated chicken and a balsamic vinaigrette dressing. Surprisingly, most dressings contain gluten as a thickening agent, so as a substitute to typical dressings, I whisked together extra virgin olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and salt and pepper to taste.

Now what’s glutinous about marinated chicken?  Well, most marinade sauces that are used to coat meat, in my case soy sauce, are traditionally made with wheat. Despite having the word “soy” in its title, almost all soy sauces contains wheat (I know, false advertising right?).  To tackle this set back, I pulled out my extra virgin olive oil again, and this time combined it with garlic and onion, to create a healthy gluten-free marinade.

No soy sauce, no problem. Stay gluten-free by making marinades with garlic rather than soy sauce!

A post shared by Food for Thought (@food4thought210) on

Dinner:

My normal menu for dinner is whole wheat pasta and vegetables.  Although I’m smooth sailing with the vegetables, pasta contains gluten. So instead of pasta, I went to her step-sisters, rice and quinoa. Plain rice and quinoa in all forms (white, brown, etc.) is gluten-free, so saying goodbye to pasta was never done so easily.

Forget pasta! Switch to rice or quinoa to stay gluten-free for you lunches and dinners! #food4thought #quinoa #rice

A post shared by Food for Thought (@food4thought210) on

And there you have it!  A healthy and delicious day, in an easy gluten-free way!

Check out our Facebook page to find more of our articles and information!

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s